Oath taking ceremony of newly appointed Members of Pharmacy Council of Pakistan


 Dr. HashimPopalzai, Additional Secretary, Ministry of National Health Services Regulations & Coordination administered oath to the newly constituted Council membersof Pharmacy Council of Pakistan(PCP) in the M/o NHSR&C. After which PCP members elected Dr. A.Q JavedIqbalasVice President. The PCP is the regulatory body establishedunder Pharmacy Act 1967 to regulate pharmacy practice and education by Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians. The mandate of Pharmacy Council is to protect, promote and maintain the health, safety and wellbeing of patients and the public who use pharmaceutical services in Pakistan.

PCP has taken many vital decisions in this meeting which includes strict regulatory monitoring of Institutions imparting Pharmacy Education, drafting road map to build the professional status of pharmacists and the amendment in Pharmacy Act 1967 in line with the current international standards.

Mr. Ayub Sheikh, Secretary, Ministry of National Health Services Regulations & Coordination chaired the concluding session of the meeting and ensured full support and cooperation to the council and said that the Council memebers have a great responsibility to regulate the education system in Pharmacy to produce high quality professionals.

The newly elected Vice President PCP assured that the Council will use all its means to promote and upgrade the Pharmacy education in the country. He also reiterated that InshaAllah, the Council members will work with full commitment to enhance the capacity building of the Pharmacists who have to play an important role in this life saving profession. The members reiterated their zeal and dedication to bring revolutionary changes in the Pharmacy profession.


Meeting was attended by, Prof. Dr. Ali Akbar Siyal, Naveed Anwar, Prof. Dr. Muhammad Saeed, Nisar Ahmed, Prof. Dr. AzharHussain, AyazGulKiani, Prof. Dr. Naveed Akhtar, Dr. ObaidUllah, ShamoonChaudhary,TanveerAhmed Siddiqui, Muhammad Ibrahim and Ali Ahmad Agha.